The Meadowvale Minor Hockey Association has the dual distinction of being one of the largest and youngest Associations in the MHL. The Association started in 1976 with 7 teams, a brand new arena and high hopes for a small but growing community of Meadowvale. A gutsy team of founding members (Bob Jones, Brian Shaw, Pat Jones, Jim Buckle, Wally Jones, Wally Rawn & Dave Strutt) may not have foreseen the amazing growth rate that the area was to go through, but they did put in place a philosophy and structure necessary to support the over 75 teams that Meadowvale now “ices” each year.

The Organization celebrated their 40th anniversary in the 2016-17 season. The Organization now supports a booming pre-tyke program for 4-6 year olds (Ice Puppys) as well as the regular age levels from Novice to Juvenile (7-20). The “Mohawks” are the representative Meadowvale teams, playing at the more competitive “A” level. In 2004/2005 the Meadowvale house league unveiled it’s own distinct logo…the HAWKS.

As with any young organization that starts from scratch, its identity went through a few changes throughout the ’70s and ’80s. Team colours during the first decade were various shades of brown, white and orange. The late ’80s saw the move to the black, gray and white (L.A. Kings) jerseys before evolving into the present black, yellow and white (Boston Bruins).

The Meadowvale Hockey Association has always had a progressive approach to community hockey. “Family participation” is encouraged as well as the concepts of teamwork, respect, good sportsmanship and FUN. Meadowvale was the first association in the MHL to adopt the “S.T.O.P.” program for age levels where contact hockey is played and now players at all levels wear the “S.T.O.P” sign. This was adopted to help fight against excessive violence in hockey while promoting safe play.

The following people have served in the position of President for MMHA: Bob Jones, Dave Strutt, Jim Pinfold, Pat Jones, Richard Miron, Mac Macfarlane, Richard Ladouceur, Dominik Fortin, Michel Feuiltault, Ed Nomi, and Betty Burgess, John Hollohan, Jeff Leavens, Lorraine Muise, Jim Barbour, Ron Popadiuk, and most recently Steve Johnston. Fred Buchal, a former MHL President and inductee into the MHL Hall of Fame also coached for Meadowvale.

Meadowvale’s current President is Richard Foote and reinforces Meadowvale’s committment to teaching players to:

  • Love the game of hockey and have fun!!
  • Be generous in winning and more importantly, graceful in losing
  • Be fair and display sportsmanship both on and off the ice
  • Be obedient to the rules and respect the officials
  • Work for the good of the team and put the team first
  • Conduct yourself with honour and dignity, representing MMHA
  • Always strive to be the best you can be, and remember, it’s just a game!!!!

For more information regarding Meadowvale Hockey, please visit their website,

Follow the MHL on…
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Instagram